Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich (also referred to as LMU or the University of Munich, in German: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München) is a public research university located in Munich, Germany.
The University of Munich is among Germany’s oldest universities. The University of Munich has, particularly since the 19th century, been considered as one of Germany’s as well as one of Europe’s most prestigious universities; with 34 Nobel laureates associated with the university, it ranks 13th worldwide by number of Nobel laureates. Among these were Wilhelm Röntgen, Max Planck, Werner Heisenberg, Otto Hahn and Thomas Mann. Pope Benedict XVIwas also a student and professor at the university. The LMU has recently been conferred the title of “elite university” under the German Universities Excellence Initiative.
LMU is currently the second-largest university in Germany in terms of student population; in the winter semester of 2013/2014, the university had a total of 50,542 matriculated students. Of these, 8,719 were freshmen while international students totalled 7,403 or almost 15% of the student population. As for operating budget, the university records in 2013 a total of 571.3 million Euros in funding without the university hospital; with the university hospital, the university has a total funding amounting to approximately 1.5 billion Euros.

The university consists of 18 faculties which oversee various departments and institutes.
1. Faculty of Catholic Theology
2. Faculty of Protestant Theology
3. Faculty of Law
4. Faculty of Business Administration
5. Faculty of Economics
6. Faculty of Medicine
7. Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
8. Faculty for History and the Arts
9. Faculty of Philosophy, Philosophy of Science and Study of Religion
10. Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences
11. Faculty for the Study of Culture
12. Faculty for Languages and Literatures
13. Faculty of Social Sciences
14. Faculty of Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics
15. Faculty of Physics
16. Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
17. Faculty of Biology
18. Faculty of Geosciences and Environmental Sciences

Research centres
In addition to its 18 faculties, the University of Munich also maintains numerous research centres involved in numerous cross-faculty and transdisciplinary projects to complement its various academic programmes. Some of these research centres were a result of cooperation between the university and renowned external partners from academia and industry; the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, for example, was established through a joint initiative between LMU Munich and the Deutsches Museum, while the Parmenides Center for the Study of Thinking resulted from the collaboration between the Parmenides Foundation and LMU Munich’s Human Science Center.
Some of the research centres which have been established include:
• Center for Integrated Protein Science Munich (CIPSM)
• Helmholtz Zentrum München – German Research Center for Environmental Health
• Nanosystems Initiative Munich (NIM)
• Parmenides Center for the Study of Thinking
• Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society.

LMU Munich is consistently ranked among the world’s top 100 universities in various international ranking surveys such as the Academic Ranking of World Universities and the Times Higher Education Supplement which ranks over 1000 universities worldwide. In a 2010 human competitiveness index & analysis Human Resources & Labor Review published in Chasecareer Network, LMU Munich was the only German university listed in its list of the world’s best 50 universities and was ranked 38th internationally. In 2013, LMU Munich was internationally ranked 53rd in the QS World University Rankings.
Notable rival German universities in terms of rankings include TU München, Heidelberg University and the Free University of Berlin.

About the Author